It’s All in the Family…

Sleepy Time

Okay, I know it’s been a while since my last post and hopefully I haven’t lost too many of you in the interim. The past week has been filled with grandchildren, trips to the doctor, keeping the wolves at the door and endless viewings of Dora the Explorer. I honestly don’t remember when things have been so hectic, but yet peaceful at the same time.

Having both my kids and grandkids living here has been proven to be an experience to say the least. I have learned a few things through the past 2 weeks that have enlightened me about the future of my legacy.

First, let me say that yes I am proud of my children and what they have accomplished so far. They have both grown up to be loving and devoted parents who are still conspiring to to see how far the could go before I end up in an asylum. Although they are in their late “20’s” I still see them as my little kids. Of course when I tell them that I can see their eyes roll and head shake as they mumble disbelief under their breath.

The best part is although they live in my house, my grand kiddies are just that; my grandkids and I have made it a point not to be their part-time parent. Although I respect the limits imposed by their parents, I can still spoil them and then turn them back to their parents.

I guess the joys of being a grandparent help make up for the times you couldn’t enjoy your kids when they we that age. I sadly remember the times when I was asked to play catch or color a picture and I just didn’t have the time. I can never make up those times with their parents, but now I make sure that I have the time no matter how silly the request may be. At times I can see in my children’s eyes a sort of wistful look as I get down on the floor and construct a Lego tower in a race with their kids, then I remind them that it’s never too late to play and invite them to see if they could build a bigger higher tower. (And of course I let them!)

Peace Out,

Kevin

About Kevin

I am 58 and I have finally decided to open the closet door and venture out.
This entry was posted in Drama, Growing up, Humor, Life, Musings, Self Discovery, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s All in the Family…

  1. catrina says:

    Isn’t being a grandparent wonderful? We had all six of ours and their parents at our house on Sunday. At one point, as I was sitting on our deck (in 102 degree heat!), watching the kids swimming in the pool, I got all weepy at how lucky we are! Of course, I can fill mine up on sugar and send them home….not a good idea for you! 🙂

  2. Dawn says:

    Oh Kevinnnnnn….. where are youuuuuu??? I miss ya–hope all is well!

  3. dirkmancuso says:

    I love that you know how lucky you are to be blessed with children and now grandchildren. It’s truly a gift.

  4. smilingchaos says:

    lool thats so sweet
    -smiley

  5. johnmichael says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  6. Eric says:

    Great blog! I added you to my blogroll. I’d appreciate it if you’d consider linking back.

    Most blogs allow you to enter your blog url in a special field in the comment section. If the blog doesn’t have that feature, then you will also need to put my url in the comment.

  7. Dawn says:

    Hey Kevin– hope all is well with you and your family. I hope to see you post again someday soon!

  8. I am a music lover and composer, enjoy pretty much every kind of electronic music. I bookmarked your site will definitely come back, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

