Hail, Hail the Gangs all here…

ganghere.jpg

 

Well, after 2 weeks of moving things around and re-arranging rooms, my son and granddaughter are settled in my home. I not only have both my kids back with me, but also my 2 grandchildren and my daughters domestic partner. Even though I live in a 3 bedroom house, it is a SMALL 3 bedroom house. To say that we are tight for space is an understatement.

My son has moved back home because of problems in his marriage. Over the course of their marriage, both he and his wife have come to me with their questions and comments. I have tried my best to be as non-biased as possible and just “listen” to them without putting my personal feelings into the mix. I remember all to well the evil glances and sometimes outright statements from my ex-father-in-law and how they not only hurt me personally, but also my children. I swore that I would never talk against or demean my children’s choice of spouse UNLESS there was physical or emotional abuse issues and so far I have kept that promise to myself and them. As a result on one hand I have gained a respect of my children and their spouses that in some ways many parents and in-laws have lost from butting in too much. Yes, I have felt their hurt and pain within their relationships over the years, but I know that by butting in, I wouldn’t be helping them in the long run, also I would appear to be taking sides which would put me in a no win situation.

Don’t get me wrong, I do have some strong feelings about this situation, and I don’t pretend to be a hero for either side. But my feelings and opinions are just that, mine. So, maybe they will get back together maybe they won’t. All I know is I can be there for them both of them as well as my granddaughter if nothing more than just a shoulder to lean on or a set of open arms to hug.

Anyway, now that things are starting to settle into a routine, I can finally find time for myself to gather my thoughts and blog here.

Also, in case you thought I forgot, I will be posting the survey results, later tonight.

Kevin

About Kevin

I am 58 and I have finally decided to open the closet door and venture out.
This entry was posted in Divorce, Life, Love/Romance, Reunions, Self Discovery, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hail, Hail the Gangs all here…

  1. catrina says:

    We had our daughter, son-in-law, and their three kids for a week during an ice storm last winter. I can’t imagine doing it full-time! But I also can’t imagine turning them down if they needed us. It’s difficult not to judge, but the best for everyone. You’re doing a good job!

  2. johnmichael says:

    Even in confined spaces, sometimes all those hearts melding together make breathing easier to do.

Leave a Reply

