It’s Official, Summer 2007 has begun!

Summer Solstice

 

(SHAMELESS PLUG, LAST CALL – Please remember to answer my 2 question SURVEY. Results will be posted on Friday – Thanks, Kevin)

In the Northern Hemisphere, summer officially began at the solstice today Thursday, June 21 at 2:06 p.m. EDT (11:06 a.m. PDT). The sun reached the point where it’s furthest north of the celestial equator. Summer officially began in the Northern Hemisphere and winter for the Southern Hemisphere. This changing of the seasons takes place because the plane of Earth’s equator is tilted 23.5 degrees to our orbit around the sun. From the beginnings of man’s time on earth, he has marked the movement of the sun, moon and stars to plan all the phases of how he lived his life.

And what better time to for us to celebrate Pride Month? I know for me this will be the first time that I will be attending a Pride Event. Although I haven’t fully come out of my closet, it will be a further opening of the door on my journey to be totally (and finally) out.

I had wanted to attend the much closer Philly Pride Weekend, but due to other commitments I was unable to. The NEED for me to attend this year has been stronger than ever, so I will be making the trek to NYC for their parade this Sunday!

Although the weather is expected to be VERY hot and humid, I will be joining thousands of fellow LGBT brothers and sisters as we celebrate our lives as well as remember those that have paved the path before us.

I know that this is a small step for some, but for me it’s an important step none the less. I will be trying to post until then and hopefully on Monday, I will be able to give you a recap of my NYC adventure! In the meantime, Peace OUT!

Kevin

About Kevin

I am 58 and I have finally decided to open the closet door and venture out.
This entry was posted in Coming Out, Gay Pride, Gay Theme, Holidays, Life, Self Discovery, Uncategorized, Weird Science. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Official, Summer 2007 has begun!

  1. johnmichael says:

    Have fun! And have a safe trip to New York.

    I know that I have always had fun in New York–even if it’s just been the straight kind of fun. The parade should be interesting. Let us know how it goes!

  2. Dawn says:

    Good for you!!! Hope all went well there for you, and I can’t wait to hear your recap!

  3. eric says:

    Hey, I added you to my blogroll. Could you take a look and see if my site is worthy to be on your roll? 🙂

  4. Dawn says:

    Hey– you haven’t posted in over a week! I hope all went well at the Parade!!!

Leave a Reply

