Daddy’s Day Recap…

fatherhoood.jpg

Well, Daddy’s Day is just about over and all I can say is it’s been a hoot. First, breakfast in bed served by my grandson, then a card, later a visit from my son and his family, and then topped by a “Father’s Day Jello Ice-Box Cake”! At the end of the day, I was reminded that life has a way of never letting you forget how good you really have it.

To be honest I wasn’t really expecting anything this year as we are having a tough time financially, but low and behold my kids made me remember that love is freely given and the best gift ever to be bestowed on another. It’s amazing how a precious smile and a tight hug make up for all the gold in the world.

Yes, there were times when being a father made me question my sanity and also tested my patience to the limit, but there were other times when I realized having kids (and now grandkids) was the best things that could have ever happened in my life. They are the gifts that keep on giving and they are my legacy to the world. I may not have always been the best dad and there are plenty of things in my life that I am too ashamed to ever admit, but in the end I know at least I have “done right” by my kids. I tried my best to teach them to be better than me and to teach their kids the same. More importantly to love no matter how much it can hurt at times, because never loving someone or never being loved in return hurts more.

I may not have always liked what they did in the past, but I always loved them and let them know it. I guess it was my way of teaching them unconditional love, which is something that I never had from my parents and never will.

Besides my kids the only one to ever show me that kind of love was my grandma, and it’s from her example that I used as my guide for them. So today and every day, I dedicate to her, because without her love and guidance I honestly don’t know if I would even be alive today or at the very least know how to love without question or conditions.
Kevin

About Kevin

I am 58 and I have finally decided to open the closet door and venture out.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Life, Musings, Self Discovery, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daddy’s Day Recap…

  1. dirkmancuso says:

    Congrats on having a happy father’s day!

Leave a Reply

