The Thunder Rolls…

Lightning

 

(If you get a chance, please go HERE and take my quick 4 question survey. THANKS!!! Now back to the show…)

What is it about thunderstorms at night that gets me all worked up? Right now as I look out my window every few seconds the night sky lights up with some amazing bolts of lightning only to be followed by cracks of thunder loud enough to make you jump.

Is it the power and the fury these storms posses that thrill me? Maybe. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t get off at the devastation that they sometimes bring, I just revel in the moment at the awesome display of Mother Nature.

On other levels though, I find that thunderstorms are also a visual and audio public display of the anger that I sometimes harbor towards those who believe that their opinions and values are the only ones to be followed. In my minds eyes it’s their god’s wrath raining down on them trying to wash them of their sins of pride, and judgmental attitudes. Sort of like a mini version of the biblical flood except this time it’s those who claim to be righteous and god fearing are the ones left outside the ark.

Now some may say that I come off sounding like I am anti-religion, but I’m not. I believe that everyone should have the right to believe and practice their religion as they see fit as long as they don’t interfere with the beliefs and practices of others. Even if those beliefs are in no beliefs at all. I have my own personal religious beliefs believe it or not, however I will never tell you that mine are superior to yours or condemn you for them. That is what this country was founded on, the right to practice whatever religion (or none) as you choose without interference or entanglement from the government (and others) as well as the state not endorsing one religion over another.

Many claim that this country was founded on god and christian principals and also think that our founding fathers were church going christians. In fact they were NOT. Many of our founding fathers did believe in god, (Franklin, Washington, Jefferson etc.,) however none claimed to be a member of any one particular religion nor did any of them attend regular church services. They did however believe in a supreme power who they called god, but were more realistic in their thoughts. They believed in a god that didn’t endorse one religion over another and one who loved all, forgave if asked and yet was intolerant of disbelievers. That was why they made the separation of church and state, to protect the new democracy they formed from becoming a theocracy as the ones that them and their fathers fled from. I can’t imagine how they would feel to see how much their hopes and dreams of a democratic utopian society, are failing now as the religious right tries to hijack the very core principals they fought and died for and that is to turn this nation into a god fearing, bible thumping born again christian nation. Don’t believe me? Do a Google search on the theocracy movement in America. Hopefully you will be just as shocked as I was to see this movement has been around for almost 30 years and it’s gaining momentum.

So, how did I get from a late night thunderstorm to a very real threat to our democratic way of life? I don’t know, just my usual rambling mind on a very stormy late night. And yes after the storm there is always that relief that one feels that everything although a bit wetter is back to normal.

Kevin

About Kevin

I am 58 and I have finally decided to open the closet door and venture out.
This entry was posted in A**Holes, Musings, Politics, Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

