Happy Birthday to me…

Today was my birthday. It wasn’t as bad as birthdays go, but I have to admit that I have had better. It wasn’t that I turned 49 today, that I could handle. It’s just that a couple of things happened (or didn’t happen) that put a damper on my day.

First, “R” the person that I have been with for the past 16 years didn’t even remember, although I did give him a hint or two the past week, I guess it didn’t click. I know things haven’t been the same between us, but we still talk every day and see each other almost every day. When he called me this morning to come over to help him with some stuff, I went over thinking maybe he wanted to say happy birthday and give me a gift. No such luck, instead he crashed his computer and I spent about 4 hours getting it up and running again as well as reconnecting his home network. Okay, I do this as a side line to make extra money and he knows this but I didn’t even get a thank you. I left in a mood and he hasn’t even called to find out why. Yet, only 5 weeks ago, I took him out for dinner for his birthday. Oh well, what goes around comes around…

Then, in the mail today, I received a card with a $20 gift certificate from the Mother from Hell. (Not that I am ungrateful, but she has so much, she could pay off my mortgage with the interest she earns at the bank alone, but I digress…) Since I immediately didn’t call her to thank her, she called me later in the day to see if I received it and then proceeded to tell me all her aches and pains. Before hanging up as an after thought, she mentioned that her, my father along with my sister and her husband (with whom they live with) are all moving to Kansas! This bitch lives about 20 miles from me and says it’s too far to visit and wouldn’t move closer to me because they didn’t want to be too far from their doctors? WTF???

Was I shocked or stunned, no. She pulled the same shit the last time she moved. I had gone over to her house as a surprise and when I got there I saw packing boxes all over the house. I jokingly asked if she was moving, and she said as a matter of fact they were. They were moving in with my sister BUT she was planning on calling me that night to tell me anyway. (I later found out that this move had been planned for months!) Before I started a fight I left and called my other sister and asked her if she knew anything. She had no clue either and was just as hurt as I was. This time however, when I called her she admitted that she has known about this move though for about a month. She didn’t tell me because she was sworn to secrecy because the BITCH wanted to tell me in her own way and time. Then sis added icing to my birthday cake and told me that the parents from hell even bought a house out there already. This was something that even the BITCH didn’t even tell me. As far as I knew, this “move” was still in the planning stages. I should have know better from last time.

Don’t you just love close families? Ain’t adoption wonderful??? Why do I all of a sudden feel like the black sheep of the family? I know I haven’t done anything to deserve this. All my life was about trying to please her and my father, sometimes at the expense of my wife and kids and this is the payback I get? FUCK HER, MY FATHER and MY ASSHOLE SISTER AND HER HUSBAND. I already know that the next time I will see them is when their bodies will be shipped back to NJ for burial. I AM THROUGH!! I can’t go through this shit anymore!

On a lighter note, believe it or not, the rest of the day was great! After dinner my daughter, her partner and my grandson, presented me with a small cake, and sang the Happy Birthday song. After sobbing like a baby, I realized that they are all I need along with my son, his wife and my granddaughter. They are my true family and blood is indeed thicker than water.

Kevin

About Kevin

I am 58 and I have finally decided to open the closet door and venture out.
This entry was posted in A**Holes, Adoption, Adult Content, Life, Self Discovery, Uncategorized, WTF. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday to me…

  1. Dawn says:

    Hey Kevin, Just wanted to send you some Birthday love! Glad to hear that although it started out shitty, it ended on a happy note. Many hugs to you.

  2. kev says:

    Happy Birthday KEVIN!!! All the best, and know that “opening your total truth” door is the best birthday present you can give yourself.

  3. chaos says:

    I am assuming you were adopted (since I have only skimmed parts of your blog) but your post struck me, see I am not adopted but my parents act similar to yours in that they can afford anything they want but refuse to let me borrow money to pay for medication ~ even though my husband quit work to take care of them when my dad was sick. In any case, I wanted to say family is who you choose not who you are born related to. I love my chosen family more than my own.

    Wanted to also wish you a happy birthday!

  4. Kevin says:

    Happy Birthday Kevin … belated.

    Ugh, families … can’t live with them … can’t chop them up and bury them in the backyard.

Leave a Reply

